A significant part of Colombia’s rich cultural diversity and impressive natural wealth is rooted in the Amazon

Amazonía region in southern Colombia comprises the departments of Amazonas, Caquetá, Guainía, Guaviare, Putumayo and Vaupés, and covers an area of 483,000 km², 35% of Colombia’s total territory. The region is mostly covered by tropical rainforest, or jungle, which is a part of the greater Amazon rainforest.

The region is bounded by the East Andes along the western edge and extends to the Venezuelan and Brazilian borders in the east. The northern limit begins with the Guaviare and Vichada Rivers and extends south to the Putumayo and Amazon Rivers.


Go to Top